Day 2: Friday 21 January 2011

09.00-09.10  European Commission Perspective on Nanoelectronics

Dirk Beernaert, European Commission

09.10-11.00 Sessions 5 and 6. Chairperson: Michel Brillouet, CEA-LETI, Grenoble.

09.10-10.05  Session 5 – Compound Semiconductor Based Micro (Nano) - Electronics

William Stanchina, University of Pittsburg. 

Discussant: Thomas Swahn, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg.

Rapporteur: Alain Cappy, LAAS-CNRS, Paris.

Group discussion.

10.05-11.00  Session 6 – Spintronics and Magneto Electronics, an Overview

Sergio Valenzuela, Catalan Institute for Nanotechnology, Barcelona.

Discussant: Paolo Lugli, Technische Universität München.

Rapporteur: Christian Pithan, Forschungszentrum Juelich GmbH.

Group discussion. Coffee break

11.30-13.20 Sessions 7 and 8. Chairperson: Piotr Grabiec, Institute of Electron Technology, Warsaw.

11.30-12.25 Session 7 – The Bridge to Design

Paolo Lugli, Technische Universität München.

Discussant: Danilo Demarchi, Politechnic University of Turin.

Rapporteur: Volker Schoeber, Edacentrum GmbH, Hannover.

Group discussion.

12.25-13.20  Session 8 – Molecular Electronics/Quantum Computers Computing towards 2020

Göran Wendin, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg.

Discussant: Douglas Paul, University of Glasgow.

Rapporteur: Dag Winkler, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg. 

Group discussion.

13.20-13.40 Wrap up (of session 5 to 8 (Rapporteurs: 5 minutes per session)

13.40-14.00 Conclusions of Workshop 1 and Next Steps

Closing remarks and announcement of Workshop 2

14.00 Lunch and departure